Daystar University Marks it’s First Ever Joint SOEA

By Belinda Nabwire Addikah


Miss Daystar 2017 Melanie Mwangi with her predecessor.PHOTO: Bernard Nyakundi

Daystar University Athi river campus and Valley road campus held a joint Star of Excellence Award (SOEA) on Saturday 23rd April 2017 at Two rivers Mall.

The ceremony brought together both the Valley Road and Athi River students making it the first ever joint SOEA in the history of Daystar University. The purpose of the event was to crown Mr. and Miss Daystar 2017-2018 and award various students, staff, and entities of Daystar University.

The contestants started modeling around midnight where they showcased their talents and skills. The various categories showcased included casual wear, professional wear, talent wear, creative wear, cultural wear and lastly dinner wear which was followed by performances by Barvin Songa and Robert Bonke.

The event ended at 4 am with the crowning of Stanley Juma as Mr. Daystar and Melanie Mwangi as Miss Daystar. Kabatila Kavat and Berithland Nkurunziza were the 1st and 2nd male runner’s up respectively while Shamiso Chinyenze and Eunice Mwingirwa were the 1st and 2nd female runner’s up respectively.

There were a few performances by Powell Tawa and Maternity band kicked off the awards session. The Star of the Year award went to Powell Tawa (Athi) and Gladys Wahura (Valley Road). Club of the Year award went to Aiesec (Athi) and Rotaract (Valley Road). Servant Leader of the Year award went to Abdulhaleem Mwaumba.

Infinite Mass won the Dance Crew of the Year while Music Group of the Year award was grabbed by Afrizo. The award for Most Creative Student Innovation went to Moses Sichach who came up with the DUSA Market initiative. Shine FM won the award for the Media Entity of the Year while Brian Aseli took the award for Star Tribute of the year. Dr. Chip Kingsbury received the award for Star Staff of the Year.

Mrs. Winnie Mbatha retained the title for Star Lecturer of the Year while Mrs. Phyllis Mutua received the International Students’ Association of Daystar University (ISADU) special award. The Co-founder of Daystar University, Dr. Donald Smith, received the Lifetime award.

There were also awards for the Daystar Super League (DSL), Baraka (BVB) being the Best Player of the Season. Grace Iniesta (ISADU) won Best Middle Fielder. The award for Best Defender went to Ali Shabani (ISADU) while Timothee (ISADU) took the award for the Goalkeeper of the Season. With 7 goals, Kabro (BVB) received the award for Top Scorer. Maseko Moses (ISADU) won the Manager of the Year award.

“The choice of venue was perfect. It was beautiful, from the décor to the performances.” Said Harrison Macharia, 4th-year Communication Major-Athi River Campus.

“It was not an easy job planning for this event. The outcome was a success considering that this was the first time we did a joint event.” Said Mitchelle Maina who was part of the organizing committee.

The various DUSA executives present at the event expressed their gratitude to the students in attendance.

“Thank you for attending and making this event memorable. More so, we would like to appreciate your patience through the event,” said John Brian Oyaro, the DUSA President, Athi River Campus.

“It was a long night, but I am glad it was successful,” said Kevin Owiti who was one of the judges as well as the reigning Mr. World Africa.

Among the guests present was Dennis Itumbi who is the Senior Director of Innovation, Digital and Diaspora Communication in the Office of the President of the Republic of Kenya and Nominated Senator Naisula Lesuuda.




About The Author

Editor in Chief - Involvement Newspaper

Related posts